asthma classification MDI
Emergency physicians have the opportunity to educate patients and prescribe chronic inhaled corticosteroids to patients who should be on these medications chronically. Patients may be more receptive to education and advice given immediately after an asthma exacerbation, managed in the ED.  Using the National Institute of Health/ National Asthma Education and Prevention Program classification system, physicians can quickly determine if the patient is a candidate for inhaled corticosteroids and initiate therapy accordingly.

PV Card: Asthma Classification system

In short, patients can be classified into one of 4 classes: intermittent, mild persistent, moderate persistent, and severe persistent asthma. Patients in these classes should receive either Step 1, 2, 3, or 4/5 medications, respectively. I remember that patient using daily short-acting beta agonists (SABA) belong to the moderate persistent asthma category.

Go to ALiEM (PV) Cards for more resources.

Michelle Lin, MD
ALiEM Founder and CEO
Professor and Digital Innovation Lab Director
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of California, San Francisco
Michelle Lin, MD


Professor of Emerg Med at UCSF-Zuckerberg SF General. ALiEM Founder @aliemteam #PostitPearls at Bio:
Michelle Lin, MD